have you found your thing?

I do a lot of things. I’m a dabbler. I love a lot of things but I don’t think I’ve found my thing yet.

How many of you are doing what you love? What do you do when even doing what you love wears you down or starts feeling like a chore? How do you find that thing you love so that you can do it?

There are wise people who say you should find your passion and make that your work. That way you will be doing what you love to do and making a living at it. How many people does that actually happen for? First off, what if you can’t find your passion? What if, even if you have one, you can’t find a way for it to help you survive: buy food, pay bills, contribute to the rent/mortgage?

Whenever I have to contribute to the “about” section on any thing I sign up for I never really know what to say.  I am a stay-at-home-mother to one son. That’s about as far as I get. I love to cook (sometimes). I love to bake (sometimes). I really do love doing laundry, as hard as it may be for people to believe that. I love taking pictures. I love reading. I love words. I love music. I love to travel. I love to garden (sometimes). I love children, animals, trees, hearts, flowers, seashells, the ocean, clouds, Lego and the harmonica — to name just a few things.

So, I love all those things. I’m at least a little bit good at a lot of things. I guess I could say I am a good cook. I’m good at baking. I am good at laundry. I catch the odd perfect shot on film or flashcard. I read well. I can do a lot of things. But so what? I have people tell me I should be a writer, I should be a photographer, I should be a teacher. Well, guess what? I am all those things, just not professionally. I don’t think I have any sellable stories inside of me. Every consumer with a camera phone now believes they are a photographer, and I know how hard it is to be a professional. I love children but I know I don’t have the patience to be a teacher.

I’m a parent. I love it (most times). I just don’t know if I’m any good at it. I’m not a very good housewife. I’m not even a very good spouse. Parent? Who knows. Is my son happy? He says yes. He says I’m a good mom and there isn’t anyone else he’d rather have as a mom. Is that good enough for me? I guess so.

Maybe I have found my thing.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “have you found your thing?

  1. I think you are lovely, whatever you decide you are. One thing I do know you are: an incredibly warm, loyal friend. I also think you are a really good writer. You should show off more of your photos! As far as the saying “You should do what you are passionate about and find a way to make it pay,” well, we shall see how that one works!! xoxo. I really do think you are wonderful.

  2. I thought I’d found my “thing,” but life tends to change drastically when you least expect it. I’m not sure there’s any one “thing” for most people… you kind of have to make your life a balance of interests and passions. As for the “find something you love and do it as a job” idea, it’s great if you’re going to be self-employed but if you’re going to do something you love for somebody else, it probably won’t be something you love for long. But that could just be my graphic design burnout talking. ;D I think I’d like my “thing” to be an eternal quest to figure out all the things I love! 😀

  3. Pick a few things and begin to get even better at them. You’ll find those things that make your heart sing. By the way, you are a writer. Just sayin’.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. Ifeoma

    I think you your writing style is simple and honest . I love that.

    I know what you’re saying; for years I referred to my self as a zero-skill,good-for-nothing adult (it’s kind of hard not to believe him). All I knew were fashion and fitness. Especially fitness. The gym was my home. One day , I woke up and said “He’s right. All I know IS the gym”. So, I registered my company name and I’m in the process of getting my Turbo Kick Instructor certification. In the future, I hope to get one from ACSM. I also think I’m good at this mummy-thing. It’s hard sometimes ,especially with no help but I think my kids are happy. And I like to think I write well,too. Check out some of my” work” (profile name:Omaa)on 9jamom.com.You may have to register 1st but hey..

    • Thank you very much … who’d have thought I’d ever have a “writing style?” 🙂

      I know what you’re saying; for years I referred to my self as a zero-skill,good-for-nothing adult

      That’s the thing, isn’t it? We’ve all got mad skills .. other people don’t always know what we’re good at and we shouldn’t ever let them tell us we’re not good at anything. ‘Cause it’s not true; we just need to get to the place where we recognize it in ourselves. Good for you for following through on what you love. ♥

  5. My mom has been the best inspiration for exactly what you’re discussing. (She wrote a guest post about it for my blog a few weeks ago that got “freshly pressed” by word press.) Anyway, she was a stay at home mom for a long time and slowly experimented with other stuff. She was a handwriting analyst for a long time, then years later owned a needlepoint store, and now puts together “art-to-wear” shows in Chicago twice a year. Her point was–you don’t always have to know the one “magical” answer to the “what do I want to do?” question. It will change as you change, and that’s ok. For now, being a mom means something to your son, and that counts for A LOT.

    • Thank you Nina.

      Props to your mom. 🙂 Aren’t they the greatest? My mom is now (at 84 yrs of age) a youtube star. She volunteers at the seniors’ centre (my son calls it Oma’s work) and takes a writing class. She models in local fashion shows. More to the point, she does what she loves to do.

      I am definitely chuffed by the fact that BoyGenius thinks I’m doing a good job .. I’m just not sure I’m convinced.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

